Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Past Conferences
Share |

Recapturing Past MOTA Conferences

2010 and 2011 MOTA Conferences

2010 Annual Conference
October 8-9, 2010
Duluth Entertainment Convention Center
Duluth, MN
Watch for details!

2011 Annual Conference
November 4-5, 2011
Doubletree Hotel Park Place
Minneapolis, MN

Highlights of the 2008 MOTA Conference

View Photo Gallery

Thanks to all who attended the 2008 MOTA conference at the Best Western Kelly Inn in St. Cloud. The conference theme was “Occupational Therapy Life’s Journey... Spring through Winter.” The theme reflects the multiple age span that Occupational Therapy treats. We strive to promote quality of life to all we treat, from birth through the aging process. Friday, October 3, consisted of two full-day sessions along with half-day educational sessions. The day ended with a social where attendees met new colleagues and renewed old friendships. Saturday was another full day of educational sessions, a Silent Auction and many vendors.

Thanks 2008 MOTA Conference Co-Chairs!
Sharon Winkelman, OTR/L
Ruth Wolf-Eggebrecht, OTR/L

Congratulations 2008 award winners:

MOTA OTA Student Scholarship Award

Caitlin Spates, College of St. Catherine

MOTA OT Student Scholarship Award

Michael Olson, University of Minnesota

MOTA Service Award

Linda Buxell, MA, OTR/L — MOTA Vice President for Promotions
Brenda Hulstein, OTR/L — Member At Large
Colleen G. Johnson, OT/L — MOTA Conference Co-Chair 2007
Karen Sames, MBA, OTR/L, FAOTA — MOTA President
Nancy Scott, OTR/L — AOTA Representative
Tamra Trenary, OTD, OTR/L, BCPR — MOTA Conference Co-Chair 2007
Merri Vitse, COTA/L — MOTA Conference Co-Chair 2007
Julienne Weighter, OTR/L — MOTA Secretary

MOTA Award of Appreciation

Karen Sames, MBA, OTR/L, FAOTA
For outstanding leadership and service to the Minnesota Occupational Therapy Association

Roberta Erickson, OTR/L, CHT
For dedication to the eduation and advocacy of occupational therapy assistants

MOTA Clinician Award

Tammy Vig, OTD, OTR/L, DRS, LDI
For dedication to expanding her educational and clinical skills

MOTA Research Award

Nancy Flinn, PhD, OTR/L
For being a respected consultant and researcher with enthusiasm and passion that is contagious and beloved

MOTA Communication Award

Kathleen Matuska, MPH, OTR/L
For many contributions to the profession of occupational therapy through publications and presentations

Highlights of the 2007 MOTA Conference

By Ann Lund, Southern District Coordinator
See Conference Photos submitted by Mary Lou Henderson.

Thanks to all who attended the 2007 MOTA conference on the campus of the Mayo Clinic in Rochester. Taking time together to learn not only satisfies the need for Continuing Education Units, but also the chance to reconnect, recharge, as well as welcome new members of our profession. The Friday night social hour was sponsored by the OT programs of the University of Minnesota, St. Scholastica, and St. Catherine. Rob Bender and MOTA President Karen Sames gave a history of OT in Minnesota and at Mayo Clinic. The night was topped off with a tour of the new University of Minnesota Graduate OT campus in downtown Rochester. We had a wealth of variety in terms of lectures this year as well as the business meeting, awards ceremony, posters, and exhibits. Our silent auction had over 75 items. Our bottled water fundraiser, between donations and savings, netted MOTA over $600.

Jill D. Cramer presented the communication address entitled "Your Legacy: The Energy of Personality”, based on how to honor health and healing through intuitively trusting the power of the mind-body-spirit connection.

We want to encourage everyone to offer your time and talents when the MOTA conference is hosted in your respective districts. There is guidance provided by Ewald, our consulting firm, as well as mentoring by those who have gone before you in this endeavor. You will meet wonderful people, have the opportunity to learn, and apply your skills and strengths to something new. As occupational therapists, is this not what we do every day?

Thanks again to all those who helped make the 2007 conference a success and for giving support to our professional organization. See you in St. Cloud in 2008!

Conference Committee Co-Chairs: Colleen Johnson, Tamra Trenary, and Merri Vitse

Committee Members: Renee Andersen, Dan Knowland, Sue Korkowski, Jane Lindsy, Beth Roers, Ann Lund, Kay Rydeen.

We would also like to congratulate all of the 2007 award winners:

Awards of Appreciation
Amy Heinz, MA, OTR/L, and Ingrid Loney, COTA/L

MOTA Research Award
Kathleen Matuska, MPH, OTR/L

OT Student Scholarship
Andrea Vasos, OTS, College of St. Catherine

Service Awards
Catherine Brennan, MA, OTR/L, FAOTA; Amy Heinz, MA, OTR/L:
Ann Lund, OTR/L, CHT; Cathy Tobias, MAOL, OTR/L


1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252
St. Paul, MN


Phone (651) 290-7498
Fax (651) 290-2266

This website is optimized for modern browsers. Download Chrome | Download Firefox

Membership Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal/Privacy